Posted by: Kristie | March 21, 2010

New Season, New Looks

I love Pittsburgh in the springtime… ok, maybe Paris is still the better city for that phrase, but spring has arrived in the City of Bridges and I couldn’t be happier. We have made it through our first Pennsylvania winter — and, of course, it was one of the snowiest in the past 15 years. Nothing like jumping into East Coast living with both feet.

To celebrate the arrival of spring, which thankfully blew in with 60 degree temps and lots of sunshine, Brett and I both decided to drop a little weight, starting with our hair. For the past couple of years, I’ve been growing my hair out – partly for my husband’s adoration of long hair and partly to eventually donate it to Locks of Love. Locks of Love is a nonprofit organization that creates wigs for disadvantaged children with cancer. So once the weather warmed up and I didn’t necessarily need the back of my neck covered, I went for the plunge and chopped off 10 inches because honestly it was driving me crazy. I never wore it down, it would get caught while I was sleeping, it took forever to dry, and it constantly was knotting up. Now my hair is low maintenance and hopefully I helped a brighten a sick child’s day.

At the same time, Brett’s moppy head of hair was getting a little out of control and starting to drive him crazy too. It served him well in the winter, keeping that large head of his warm, but now it was time to go. And in grand Brett tradition, he couldn’t just get a normal haircut.

Leave a Reply

Categories

