Posted by: Kristie | January 26, 2010

Goodbye Sweet Friend

Today I found out that one of my closest friends suddenly and unexpectedly passed away yesterday. Julie and I met in college through a mutual friend and I remember liking her immediately – she was fun, energetic and had one of the best laughs, a laugh that made your whole body and soul smile. She lived in this awesome house in Austin and I have these vivid memories of painting blue and white stripes on her living room walls, heated games of Cranium on her Pier Imports glass-and-iron table, and, of course, the white VW bug convertible that she was still driving the day she died.

Over the course of the past 10 years, we both went through major life changes – she went to med school in Kentucky, residency in Virginia and eventually became an emergency room doctor – and me – starting a career straight out of college, buying a house and getting married. And even though our paths were so different and we went though our ups and downs, we were always there for each other during the major life moments.

As life got less crazy for both of us, we started seeing each other more regularly. This past October, she met up with us in Italy and we had such an incredible time together. We did a lot of talking, laughing and drinking wine. We learned we have similar travel styles and talked about taking future trips together. She taught us how to play Hearts and we spent hours talking about our dreams and the future. She realized she didn’t feel like a third wheel when she hung out with Brett and I and we planned to spend much more time together now that we would be living roughly 8 hours apart. We completely rekindled our friendship.

And so I am sitting here still in shock, alternating between denial and extreme heartbreak, realizing all of these dreams and plans won’t come to fruition. She won’t be coming to visit us in Pittsburgh to see our new home, and we won’t be going to visit her in Nashville to see the awesome apartment she had just secured. We won’t be taking anymore trips together and I won’t get to see her become an amazing doctor.

But what I do hold on to is all of the wonderful memories that are stored forever in my heart. I know even though she won’t be there in person, she will always be with me as I continue to travel through my life, cheering me on and laughing along the way.

I will miss you so much Jules and I feel so blessed to have had you in my life, even if it was too short. I will miss how your face scrunches up when you smile, the incredible octaves of your laugh, the way you would say NOOOOOO WAY, your beautiful curly hair that you never let down, and your amazing adventurous spirit. Rest in peace my sweet friend.

Responses

  1. So sorry, Kristie. You’ve written a beautiful tribute.

  2. Kris, what a nice way to memorialize Julie. I’m so glad you were able to reconnect and while you will miss her, she will always live in your heart.

  3. I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your good friend. Its so tragic to lose someone so young, so sorry….

  4. Kristie, I am so terribly sorry for and saddened by your loss. You were just telling me about your time in Italy with Julie. I am here for you if you need someone.

  5. […] after I found out about the loss of my friend, Brett encouraged me to look up the stages of grief. Unfortunately, Brett has had a lot more […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

