Posted by: Kristie | December 31, 2009

What a Year

On this final day of 2009, I can’t help but reflect about the wild ride this year turned out to be. It began with a big dream and a big plan: leave Texas, travel for two months and move to Pittsburgh.

For me, the first half of year was focused on work. Making my mark before I headed out, soaking up the final moments of a job that I loved and spending time with some of the best coworkers a girl could ask for. July was filled with a lot of tears, but also amazing memories as the wonderful people in our life sent us off in style, feeling very loved.

We spent August in Buffalo, enjoying the amazing summer weather of the north, helping to assure us that we made the right decision. I haven’t spent that much time in Buffalo since my college years and it was nice to have the ability to spend time with friends and family.

And then of course, the amazing trip. The highlight of the year – heck, practically the highlight of the past 30 years (with the exception of my wedding day, of course honey). It was amazing, incredible and not a day goes by that I don’t think about it.

I look back on 2009 and there’s one word that keeps popping into my head: happy. Not to say I haven’t had other amazing years and that I was unhappy before, but this year was different, this year was filled with numerous soul exploding, uber-happy moments.

So I feel my feet drag a little as we head into 2010. We have big plans for this year like buying a house, possibly expanding our family and fulfilling a dream of creating a working farm. And I’m sure it will all be amazing, but there’s part of me that is still holding onto the amazing year we’ve just finished. But I know new adventures, experiences and happy moments await — so I’ve got to pick up my feet, put on my positive hat and dive into the new year.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

