Posted by: Kristie | December 12, 2009

What Are We Doing?

Many people have been wondering what the heck we are doing now that we’re somewhat settled in Pennsylvania. So here’s a little update, I know you’re all on pins and needles and waiting with bated breath.

After two years, I finally sat down to update my resume. I know, I know, you should always keep your resume updated, but it’s something I loathe doing so I tend to put it off until it’s absolutely necessary. I don’t plan to tackle the job search until after the holidays, but I came upon a job opening at the Phipps Conservatory in Pittsburgh and I had to throw my name in the hat. It would be an awesome organization to join.

Along those lines, I’m also in the process of creating a web presence to feature my resume, work samples and possibly start doing some freelancing. I’m still fleshing out those details.

Many of you know that I make my Christmas cards every year. I typically start in October because I make 80–100 ever year. Well obviously I got a late start. But not having a job really helps, so it didn’t take nearly as long as usual. They are now done and sent out. I plan to post a scanned copy on the blog a little closer to Christmas.

Brett’s first major task was setting up the chicken coop. Roughly 25 chicks arrived in mid-October so by the time we got here they were on the verge of outgrowing their little bins. Brett’s working on a whole post on the process of setting up a chicken coop so stay tuned!

And we’re trying to figure out this new city we live in by: exploring Pittsburgh, driving around Northern Pittsburgh attempting to figure out where we want to live; driving by lots of houses in our price range and being disappointed; attending a Texas Exes get together where we made good connections; joining an outside adventure group that organizes outdoor activities and lots more.

Once I get all of the Europe posts done (Lake Como, Tuscany and Rome), I plan to write more about experiencing winter, house hunting and living with my mother-in-law ( just kidding Chris, it’s awesome!).

Leave a Reply

Categories

