Posted by: Kristie | December 11, 2009

The Itch is Back

When we first got back a little over a month ago, the last thing I wanted to do was get on another plane or even pack a bag. But the itch has come back full force. We always travel for our anniversary in February, so I was spending hours looking at places in Costa Rica, Alaska, West Virginia and even Austin.

I nearly gave Brett a coronary. See we need to buy a house and I need to find a job, so really the last thing we should be doing is going on another trip. But I just can’t help myself! There’s just so many places I still want to go before we we’re strapped down with kids.

So the compromise? I’m heading to NYC this weekend. This is one of the things I was looking forward to about living in Pittsburgh – its close proximately to so many places in the Northeast. Jenny, one of my best friends, lives there and it’s been too long since we’ve seen each other. And the best part is that I found a non-stop, roundtrip ticket for $99. You really can’t beat that price.

Since Jenny moved to NYC four years ago, I’ve definitely taken advantage of having a place to crash in the city. It’s so awesome visiting when you have someone (or a group of people in this case) that know the city – you just follow along and have a blast. But I’ve never really done a lot of the touristy sights like the Museum of Modern Art, the Empire State Building or even the Statue of Liberty. Since I’ll have all day Friday and Monday to explore the city myself, I plan to knock some of these off my list. Probably won’t be hitting up the Statue of Liberty because it will be way too cold, but I’d like to visit at least two museums (right now the short list is MOMA and the Guggenheim) and possibly the Empire State Building.

Anyone else have any other suggestions for must-see tourist spots?

And don’t worry, you’ll hear all about it when I get back, including plenty of pictures of food.

Responses

  1. the New York City library is incredible…


Leave a Reply

Categories

