Posted by: Kristie | November 9, 2009

Home Sweet Temporary Home

We are stateside, pretty much unpacked and waking up around 6 a.m. every morning thanks to jet lag. Our temporary home for the next couple of months is Kittanning, P.A., a small town situated an hour north of Pittsburgh. This is where Brett’s mom lives on a 66-acre beautiful plot of land. While we settle in and start looking for a home in Pittsburgh, we’ll hole up here for a couple of months and help set up the farm.

The trip home was relatively uneventful expect for a slight detour. The original plan was to fly back to Toronto, which is where we departed from, and stay overnight due to a late arrival time. In the morning, my mom was going to pick us up, take us back to Buffalo, spend the night, collect my car and then drive to Pittsburgh. The night before we departed, we realized our layover in Philadelphia was five hours after a 10-hour flight from Rome. So instead, we got off in Philadelphia, collected our checked bags per customs regulations, rented a car and drove to Pittsburgh. Ingenious decision. It was a long drive and we were tired, but arriving was sweet glory with puppy kisses and a place to hang our clothes.

I thought I would be a little sadder to be back – you know, the old vacation blues. And maybe if I had to go back to work I would feel that way. But it’s just really nice to be home. I did a load of laundry and I couldn’t believe how many clothes I could I fit into the washer – I’ve gotten quite used to tiny European washers. The initial weirdest thing was hearing English. We were in a store and I heard someone say something and I immediately thought – huh, they’re American.

So now we are trying to make a home in our temporary home – organizing our stuff, setting up our space and getting the lay of the land. My goal is to tackle the outstanding Europe photos and info immediately while it’s still somewhat fresh and hopefully I will be posting something every day. As long as I can stay up past 8 p.m.

Responses

  1. Welcome back! Looking forward to seeing the photos from the rest of your trip.

  2. Glad you guys made it back safe & sound! Isn’t it nice to unpack without the thought of re-packing again in a few days? Can’t wait to hear more about Italia!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

