Posted by: Kristie | September 4, 2009

Safe and Sound in Brussels

Well, we made it! After a year of planning, our 2-month trip has officially begun in Brussels. It actually still feels pretty surreal, like I’m going to open my eyes and be in our house in Texas.

The flight over was pretty uneventful. I realized that I tend to feel giddy about getting on international flights. I know that probably sounds weird because most people dread long flights: the cramped spaces, recycled air and bad food. I think for me, it always seemed an escape. A time where I could sit down with my personal video screen, select a movie from a variety of choices, drink some wine and for once, not multi-task. That coupled with a little Ambien and usually a non-full flight and I would arrive at the destination relatively rested.

Not this time. First, we had no personal TV screens, just one in the aisle. I didn’t realize how spoiled I had become with having my choice between movies, TV shows and even games. Second, the flight was only 6.5 hours. Yes, this is good in the long run I suppose, but the plane arrived at 10 a.m. and you’re theoretically supposed to start the day. But once we got settled, ate, and read a little bit, we only had roughly 4 hours to sleep and of course I wasn’t going to take an Ambien for that so we both got about 2 hours of sleep. Needless, to say we arrived less than refreshed.

But enough of that – we’re in Brussels! We were able to check in early to our hotel (thank god) and got in a little nap so we both have a little more pep in our step. We are staying at The Dominican in central Brussels, which I believe is the priciest place we’re staying. I figured we’d start off the trip with a bang. It was a good decision because it is swanky. Uber-comfortable bed, wall-mounted flat screen, complimentary flip-flops and monk music playing in the background — just delightful.

So now we are off to explore Brussels. We are mainly here to drink beer, the highlight being the Brussels beer festival this weekend. We have wi-fi in the hotel so hopefully you’ll be hearing all about the delishishness we encounter. Tot Ziens for now!

P.S. I will spare you from a verbal war with the hubby regarding  journalism vs. English writing, but know that his insolence has been noted…and will be addressed when I see fit.

Responses

  1. Glad you guys made it safely! That hotel looks awesome. Enjoy it. Bring on the beer photos. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

