Posted by: Kristie | September 3, 2009

Europe Packing List

When we first had the plan to take this trip, I knew we were going to need to pack light to survive. So I started researching what to bring and literally began my list about 8 months ago.  In an effort to help other travelers, here is our entire list of what we’re bringing. I tried to be specific, including colors, materials and brand to get an idea of the type of clothing we are bringing. Numerous travel info sites suggest getting quick-drying, wrinkle-free clothes, but utimately I need to feel comfortable and most of those types of clothing, I do not find comfortable. So we are bringing some wrinkle releaser and hoping we don’t have to wash things in the sink too much. If an item is mentioned, it’s most likely a travel size. We aren’t checking anything, so nothing can be over 4 oz. After the trip is over, I hope to write a “here’s what worked, here’s what didn’t” post. Hope this helps someone out there!

Kristie Clothes

  • Regular jeans
  • Black Trouser jeans
  • Black & White Striped Skirt
  • Black sleeveless dress (Patagonia)
  • Grey convertible pants (Northface)
  • Blue Cotton lounge pants
  • Black leggings
  • Black cotton shorts
  • White cotton tank top
  • Green cotton tank top
  • Black cotton camisole
  • 4 short sleeve cotton t-shirts (white, black, grey, purple)
  • Striped, ¾ sleeve shirt
  • ¾ sleeve black t-shirt
  • 1 Navy Blue long-sleeve shirt
  • Grey lightweight cardigan
  • Black lightweight jacket
  • Black hoodie sweatshirt
  • Multi-color scarf (forgot it, good excuse to buy one over here)
  • 7 pairs of quick-drying underwear (all from Target, nothing too fancy)
  • 2 bras, one sports bra
  • Swimsuit
  • Cotton night gown (double as swim cover-up)
  • Privo Luca (Black) shoes
  • Privo Joba (Deep blue) shoes
  • Reef Flip flops (Black)
  • Slipper socks
  • 1 pair of athletic socks, 1 pair of back wool socks, 6 pairs of low-cut sock/liners

Brett Clothes 

  • 2 fishing-style shirts (blue, khaki)
  • 7 pairs of t-shirts, 3 of them Under Armour
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 2 pairs of fishing pants
  • 1 swim trunks
  • 1 casual black shorts
  • Boots (not travel-friendly, but he insisted)
  • Crocs
  • Running Shoes
  • Black fleece jacket
  • Rain jacket
  • 6 pairs of socks (mix of short athletic & tall for boots)

Toiletries

  • Shampoo/body wash
  • Exfoliating Face Wipes
  • Face Lotion
  • Body Lotion
  • 2 Toothbrushes
  • Toothpaste
  • Deodorant
  • Contact Solution
  • Contacts
  • Glasses
  • Hairbands
  • Downy wrinkle releaser (for clothes)
  • Mascara
  • Brown eyeliner
  • Blush/Brush
  • Lip gloss
  • Chapstick
  • Perfume/Axe body spray
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Hairbrush
  • Flossers
  • Q-tips

Misc.

  • Ziploc bags
  • Zip ties (to secure bags to train rail)
  • Passports
  • Eurail pass
  • Europe Guidebook
  • Belgium Beer Guidebook
  • Language phrase books – German, France (Italy book coming with my friend Shannon)
  • Binder with itinerary/confirmations/ticket info
  • Laundry bag
  • Ear plugs
  • Eye mask
  • 2 Inflatable travel pillows
  • Meds – Excedrin, Advil, Advil PM, Ambien (all in two small bottles to save space)
  • 2 sets of headphones
  • 2 iphones & 2 chargers
  • Dell laptop & chargers
  • Canon Rebel camera/charger
  • Canon SD700 Digital Elph/charger
  • TomTom GPS
  • 2 paperbacks
  • Fold-up grocery sack
  • Fold-up duffel bag
  • Compact umbrella
  • Compact flashlight
  • Other things that are probably stuffed in Brett’s bag that he’s not telling me about.
Responses

  1. Glad you posted thist. I OD’d on zappos while at my parent’s last week, and ended up with a 35lb (and $3k worth) box of mainly neutral colored sundresses, quick-dry skirts, and various carry-on handbag/satchel candidates. Barely started looking at shoes.

    Of course, the bags are STILL far from perfect. But the dorky PacSafe brand’s coming close!

    • Oh, and by the way, I’m debating between the black rolla-board or a backpack. Let me know how the rolling luggage works!

      • Will do! So far the rolla-board has been fine. In general, I think I’m not a big fan of backpacks so it might just come down to preference. I’ll let you know after carting it around for a couple of weeks, my opinion might change 🙂 Also, I think I might have brought too many clothes. It’s obviously too early to tell, but just felt like we aren’t packed as light as we could, especially since I could buy something easily. But i’ll let you know that too 🙂

  2. Hey, so I never saw your reply here, and it took me a while to find this post again. You probably think I’m dense by asking for packing info again (a few days back). But, I’m a gear ‘ho so I love love love this stuff.

    I went by The Rack and DSW today and now have four pairs of shoes I may bring. I’d like to get it down to three, including my flips. I was a little nervous b/c the rest of the three are all Privo’s, and I couldn’t remember what you had decided on. Whew, doesn’t look like I’m copying you so far 🙂

    I’m on to finding good travel pants/convertibles and still deciding on the luggage.

  3. […] We have been travelling for nearly a month now so I thought I’d check in and give everyone an update on our gear/clothes. What’s working, what’s not, what I wish I brought and what I wish I’d left at home. Since I never really posted info on what gear we brought, I’ll also go into that. To see our original packing list, check out Europe Packing List. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

